Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Newcastle, West Ham, Everton, Leeds, Leicester learn fate


Ey up!

21:55: The penalties are nearly over across the country. Crewe beat Middlesbrough, Macclesfield beat Blackpool, Newport knocked out Gillingham, QPR beat Bristol City, Wycombe were beaten by Reading.

I don’t know if you care about any of this – but I’ve started so I’ll finish.

MK Dons beat Wimbledon, Bristol City out after a penalty defeat to QPR, Cambridge beat Brentford. Oh, and in the late fixture Millwall have beaten West Brom 2-1.


21:50: Sky Sports have got us right where they want us – glued to their coverage while they analyse the Salford vs Leeds match. I suspect the dozens of viewers aren’t too interested in Mateusz Klich’s 58th-minute goal…


21:45: Eight games are heading for penalties after a flurry of late goals. Blackburn were spared the dreaded spot-kicks thanks to a late Rothwell winner.

High-profile ones include Wimbledon vs MK Dons, Middlesbrough vs Crewe and QPR vs Bristol City. What a time to be alive.

Big late goals

21:40: Middlesbrough and Blackburn have both snatched draws in stoppage-time against Crewe and Oldham respectively to force penalty shootouts.

It’s full time and Leeds have knocked over Salford 3-0 to advance to the next round. Marco Bielsa’s side are in the hat!

What happens in a draw?

21:35: Any game that finishes in a draw tonight will be decided on penalties. No extra time or any of that nonsense.

As things stand five games will be decided by penalties – but I very much doubt we’ll be waiting on those to finish before the draw is made.

Who’s in?

21:30: Should you have decided to ignore the rest of this article – unwisely I might add – then you may not be aware that 13 Premier League clubs join the competition at the second-round stage.

Only the sides in Europe miss out – so that means Manchester United, Manchester City, Chelsea, Arsenal, Liverpool, Tottenham and Wolves join in the third round.

What’s the plan?

21:25: Well the draw is supposed to take place after the conclusion of this Salford City vs Leeds clash – but knowing the Carabao Cup – honestly anything could happen.

Quite a few scalps exiting the competition Blackburn, Huddersfield, Middlesbrough and Wigan all losing with roughly ten minutes remaining.

Ball numbers

21:20: Why do people have a fascination with the ball numbers for these draws? I’ve seen countless articles on which ball number each side has been assigned.

Is it to know that split-second before the presenter reads it out? Anyway… you can see all the ball numbers if you scroll to the bottom of this page.

Yes, I’m a hypocrite!

Leeds vs Salford

21:15: Anyone watching the the featured game on Sky tonight? Gary Neville, Nicky Butt and Paul Scholes were on the TV to discuss their beloved Salford City, who are entertaining Leeds at the Peninsula Stadium tonight.

Not quite gone to plan. Marcelo Bielsa’s Championship side are cruising through to the second-round draw. They currently lead 3-0 with Arsenal loanee Eddie Nketiah among the goals.


21:10: Hello everyone and welcome to our LIVE coverage of the Carabao Cup second-round draw.

Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham, Liverpool and Wolves will not be involved tonight because of their Champions League and Europa League campaigns.

But 13 Premier League sides WILL learn their fate as the weird and wonderful world of a Carabao Cup draw unfolds at around 21:45.

Now we’ve not got the bizarre and unlikely double act of John Barnes and Ray Parlour drawing the balls at a Morrisons in north-west London – but it should be good nonetheless.

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens (Image: GETTY)

When is the Carabao Cup draw?

The Carabao Cup second round draw will take place on Tuesday August 13 2019.

The draw will be conducted at the Peninsula Stadium following the conclusion of Salford City’s first round showdown with Leeds United.

That game is scheduled to get underway at 7.45pm (BST) so, providing penalties are not required, the draw should begin around 9.35pm.

Sky Sports presenter Laura Woods will host the draw, which will be broadcast live on Sky Sports Main Event and Sky Sports Football.

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens (Image: GETTY)

Who can face who?

Premier League, Championship, League One and League Two clubs can be drawn against each other in any combination.

However, the draw will once again be regionalised into north and south sections to reduce travel times for supporters.

When are the second round fixtures?

The Carabao Cup campaign will draw to a close on Sunday March 1 2019.

So, in order to get everything done before then, the second round fixtures will take place in the week commencing Monday August 26.

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens (Image: GETTY)

Ball numbers – North Section

1. Aston Villa, 2. Burnley, 3. Everton, 4. Leicester, 5. Newcastle, 6. Sheffield United, 7. Tranmere or Hull, 8. Grimsby or Doncaster, 9. Wigan or Stoke, 10. Port Vale or Burton, 11. Nottingham Forest or Fleetwood, 12. Bradford or Preston, 13. Blackpool or Macclesfield, 14. Blackburn or Oldham, 15. Mansfield or Morecambe, 16. Accrington or Sunderland, 17. Scunthorpe or Derby, 18. Rochdale or Bolton, 19. Huddersfield or Lincoln, 20. Middlesbrough or Crewe, 21. Shrewsbury or Rotherham, 22. Sheffield Wednesday or Bury, 23. Salford or Leeds, 24. Barnsley or Carlisle

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens

Carabao Cup 2nd round draw LIVE: Express Sport brings you LIVE coverage as it happens (Image: GETTY)

Ball numbers – South Section

1. Bournemouth, 2. Brighton, 3. Cardiff, 4. Crystal Palace, 5. Fulham, 6. Norwich, 7. Southampton, 8. Watford, 9. West Ham, 10. Portsmouth, 11. Colchester or Swindon, 12. Wimbledon or MK Dons, 13. Oxford or Peterborough, 14. QPR or Bristol City, 15. Plymouth or Leyton Orient, 16. Wycombe or Reading, 17. Charlton or Forest Green, 18. Gillingham or Newport, 19. Stevenage or Southend, 20. Luton or Ipswich, 21. Walsall or Crawley, 22. Bristol Rovers or Cheltenham, 23. Brentford or Cambridge, 24. Coventry or Exeter, 25. Swansea or Northampton, 26. West Brom or Millwall

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Next Post

Carabao Cup draw in full: 2nd round fixtures and dates as Premier League teams learn their opponents - Evening Standard

Carabao Cup draw in full The Carabao Cup second-round draw has taken place tonight, with Premier League teams thrown into the mix. The thirteen top-flight sides who are not competing in Europe join the League Cup at the second hurdle, with Newcastle United vs Leicester City the pick of the […]

Subscribe US Now