Sat. Jul 20th, 2019

Newcastle United confirm Premier League Asia Trophy squad – Newcastle United

2 min read

Newcastle United have announced their squad for the 2019 Premier League Asia Trophy in Nanjing and Shanghai ahead of the Magpies’ pre-season trip to China.

The Magpies travel to the Far East on Saturday and players including Martin Dúbravka, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Matt Ritchie and Sean Longstaff will be on the plane.

Florian Lejeune (knee ACL) and Rob Elliot (shoulder) will miss the trip to Asia due to injuries while Miguel Almirón, Christian Atsu and Henri Saivet have been given a period to leave to recover from representing their national teams this summer.

Newcastle will play in the Premier League Asia Trophy’s opening match against Wolverhampton Wanderers at the Nanjing Olympic Stadium on Wednesday, 17th July (kick-off 11am BST).

It is directly followed by back-to-back Premier League champions Manchester City against West Ham United (kick-off 1.30pm BST). Both matches are included in the price of one ticket.

Newcastle captain Jamaal Lascelles said: “We are traveling to China and it’s going to be a great experience playing in a completely different country with different surroundings and environment. We are very thankful to be taking part.

“A big part of it will be gaining experience, seeing different situations at the same time. Winning games will put a marker down and set an example for what we are going to do during the new season.

“I do think every game we play, especially in pre-season, will push us toward a good start of the season. We will be looking to win the games.”

Fans in China can watch the same teams in action at the Hongkou Stadium in Shanghai on Saturday, 20th July, when a third/fourth place play-off (kick-off 10am BST) will be followed by the final (kick-off 12.30pm BST), to see who will be crowned Premier League Asia Trophy champions 2019.

Goalkeeper Dúbravka has kept 15 clean sheets in 50 Premier League starts for Newcastle, at a ratio of one clean sheet every 0.3 starts – the second-best ratio of any Newcastle goalkeeper in the Premier League.

South Korean international Ki (15) ranks third in Premier League history for most goals by Asian players, behind Son Heung-min (42) and Park Ji-Sung (19), while only Manchester City (one) and Liverpool (three) lost fewer away games than Newcastle United (seven) in the Premier League last term.

The Premier League Asia Trophy is returning to Mainland China for the first time in a decade while United will be making their second appearance in the competition after competing in the inaugural tournament, held in Malaysia, back in 2003.

Match details and ticket prices for the 2019 Premier League Asia Trophy can be accessed here.

Newcastle United Premier League Asia Trophy squad: Martin Dúbravka, Ciaran Clark, Paul Dummett, Ki Sung-yueng, Fabian Schär, Jamaal Lascelles, Jacob Murphy, Jonjo Shelvey, Dwight Gayle, Matt Ritchie, Yoshinori Muto, Isaac Hayden, Rolando Aarons, Federico Fernández, Javier Manquillo, Joselu, Jack Colback, Jamie Sterry, Karl Darlow, Freddie Woodman, Nathan Harker, Achraf Lazaar, Sean Longstaff, Matthew Longstaff, Owen Bailey, Kelland Watts, Tom Allan.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Newsphere by AF themes.